Come and Celebrate ARUCC's 40th Anniversary!
ARUCC 2004
 

 

Dr. Michael Geist

Dr. Michael Geist is the Canada Research Chair of Internet and E-commerce Law at the University of Ottawa and serves as Technology Counsel to Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. He obtained a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) degree from Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto, Master of Laws (LL.M.) degrees from Cambridge University in the UK and Columbia Law School in New York, and a Doctorate in Law (J.S.D.) from Columbia Law School.

Dr. Geist has written numerous academic articles and government reports on the Internet and law and is a columnist on technology law issues for the Toronto Star. He is the creator and consulting editor of BNA's Internet Law News, a daily Internet law news service; editor of the monthly newsletters, Internet and E-commerce Law in Canada and the Canadian Privacy Law Review (Butterworths); founder of the Ontario Research Network for E-commerce; on the advisory boards of several leading Internet law publications including Electronic Commerce & Law Report (BNA), the Journal of Internet Law (Aspen) and Internet Law and Business (Computer Law Reporter); as well as the author of the textbook Internet Law in Canada (Captus Press) which is now in its third edition.

Dr. Geist’s work has been recognized with several important awards and grants including the 2002 Canadian Association of Law Teachers Scholarly Paper Award and a major research grant from the SSHRC Initiative on the New Economy for his research on Internet jurisdiction. In 2003, Dr. Geist became the first law professor to receive the Ontario Premier Research Excellence Award, obtained a significant grant from Amazon.com to establish Canada’s first technology law public interest litigation clinic at the University of Ottawa, was named one of Canada Top 40 Under 40, and received the Public Leadership Award from Canarie. Dr. Geist serves on the director and advisory boards of several Internet and IT law organizations including the Canadian Internet Registration Authority, the dot-ca administrative agency, the Canadian IT Law Association, Watchfire, and Verifia. He is chair of a global Internet jurisdiction project for the American Bar Association and International Chamber of Commerce. He is regularly quoted in the national and international media on Internet law issues and has appeared before government committees on e-commerce policy.

Venez célébrer le 40e anniversaire de l’ARUCC !
 

 

Michael Geist

Michael Geist détient la chaire de recherche du Canada en droit d’Internet et du commerce électronique à l’université d’Ottawa et est avocat-conseil spécialisé en technologie chez Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt s.r.l. Il a obtenu un Baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) de la Osgoode Hall Law School de Toronto, une Maïtrise en droit (LL.M.) de la Cambridge University du Royaume-Uni, et de la Columbia Law School de New York, ainsi qu’un Doctorat en droit (J.S.D.) de la Columbia Law School.

Michael Geist a rédigé de nombreux articles théoriques et des rapports officiels sur l’Internet et la loi et est chroniqueur pour les questions de droit de la technologie au Toronto Star. Il est le créateur et l’éditeur conseil de Internet Law News de l’éditeur BNA, un service de presse quotidien sur le droit d’Internet; le rédacteur en chef des bulletins mensuels, l’Internet and E-commerce Law au Canada et le Canadian Privacy Law Review (Butterworths); le fondateur de l’Ontario Research Network for E-commerce et est membre de plusieurs conseils consultatifs de publications majeures en matière du droit d’Internet dont l’Electronic Commerce & Law Report (BNA), le Journal of Internet Law (Aspen)et le Internet Law and Business (Computer Law Reporter). Il est également l’auteur du manuel Internet Law in Canada (Captus Press) qui en est à sa troisième édition.

Le travail de Michael Geist a été reconnu par de nombreuses récompenses importantes et des subventions dont le prix du concours d’essai juridique 2002 de l’Association canadienne des professeurs de droit (A.C.P.D.) et a reçu une importante subvention de recherche du CRHS dans le cadre de l’Initiative sur la Nouvelle économie, pour ses recherches dans le domaine de l’Internet. En 2003, le professeur Geist est devenu le premier professeur de droit à recevoir le prix du premier ministre de l’Ontario pour l’excellence en recherche, et a reçu une subvention importante de Amazon.com pour créer la première clinique juridique publique en matière de droit de la technologie au Canada, à l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a reçu le prix national canadien « Les 40 meilleurs cadres de moins de 40 ans » (Top 40 Under 40), et le Public Leadership Award du Réseau canadien pour l’avancement de la recherche, de l’industrie et de l’enseignement (CANARIE). Michael Geist fait partie des conseils directeurs et consultatifs de plusieurs organismes de droit d’Internet et de technologie de l’information, y compris l’Autorité canadienne pour les enregistrements internets, la dot-ca administrative agency, l’Association canadienne du droit des technologies de l’information, Watchfire et Verifia. Il est président du global Internet jurisdiction project de l’American Bar Association et de la Chambre internationale de commerce. Il est régulièrement cité dans les médias nationales et internationales sur les questions des lois d’internet et ses avis ont été sollicités par des comités gouvernementaux sur les politiques en matière de commerce électronique.